TFCU Banner

TFCU Announces Results of Election of Board of Directors and Officers

May 5, 2017

Hauppauge, NY – Teachers Federal Credit Union (TFCU) recently announced the results of their board election and new officers at their Annual Meeting held here at the credit union’s headquarters. The Board of Directors announced the election of the following individuals for three-year terms: Raymond P. Grossman, Shalei V.K. Simms and George L. Dornhoefer.

TFCU’s new officers are as follows: 

Timothy M. Southerton - Chairman 
Timothy M. Southerton has been elected as Chairman of TFCU’s Board of Directors, having served as a board member since 2016. Mr. Southerton has also served on TFCU’s Pension Plans Board since 2015 and was a member of the Supervisory Committee. He was a special education teacher in Sayville Public Schools and served as president of the Sayville Teachers Association, as well as on the boards of the New York State Teachers Retirement System and New York State United Teachers (NYSUT). Mr. Southerton holds an M.S. in Special Education for LIU – C.W. Post College, an MS in Technological Systems Management from SUNY Stony Brook and a BA in Speech Education from SUNY College at Cortland. 

George L. Dornhoefer – Vice Chairman
George L. Dornhoefer was named Vice Chairman, having recently completed four years as Chairman. Mr. Dornhoefer has served as a board member since 1987, and has also been Secretary and Treasurer. He has been a member of TFCUs Personnel Committee, Education Committee, Nominating Committee, Executive Committee and Chairman of TFCUs Pension Plans Board. Mr. Dornhoefer has served as a Board member, Administration Committee member, and Secretary of the Nassau-Suffolk Health Systems Agency (HSA). Prior to his retirement from teaching, he was President of the Bayport-Blue Point Teachers’ Association for ten years. He had also served the Bayport-Blue Point Teachers’ Association as its Elementary Vice-President, Treasurer, and delegate to both the New York State United Teachers and the American Federation of Teachers. Mr. Dornhoefer holds MAs from both Hofstra University and SUNY Stony Brook and a BS from SUNY at Oneonta. 

Juan C. Nuñez - Treasurer 
Juan C. Nuñez has been elected as Treasurer. Mr. Nuñez joined the Board of Directors in 2008, and has served as Vice Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the Pension Plans Board. His association with TFCU began in 2003 when he became a member of the Supervisory Committee and over the years also became a member of the Personnel Committee, the Facilities and Planning Committee and several AD-HOC Committees. Mr. Nuñez’ 30-year career in financial management includes experience across a range of business lines, markets and functions at some leading companies. He is currently VP of Financial Planning and Analysis at Apogee Events. Mr. Nuñez holds an MBA from New York Institute of Technology School of Management and a Bachelor’s degree in Accounting and Economics from Elmhurst College.

April S. Neitlich - Secretary 
April Neitlich has been elected as Secretary of TFCU’s Board of Directors. Ms. Neitlich is currently the Assistant Director of Audit and Management Advisory Services at Stony Brook University. She served on TFCUs Supervisory Committee from 2008 through 2014 and has been a member of the board since 2014. A Certified Public Accountant, Ms. Neitlich has served on the Board of Directors of her Temple’s Sisterhood and is a member of the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) and the Association of College and University Auditors (ACUA). She graduated Cum Laude from the State University of New York at Oswego with a Bachelor of Science in Accounting.

“We look forward to working together with the Board of Directors on our continued path of growth and success,” said Robert G. Allen, President/CEO, TFCU. “The strength of our Board and Management’s leadership will provide our credit union with the strategic vision and financial governance that our membership can count on for years to come.” 


About TFCU:
Teachers Federal Credit Union (TFCU), one of the country’s largest credit unions, is a full-service, not-for-profit financial institution. TFCU was founded on Long Island in 1952 and now has over $5 billion in total assets, serves more than 270,000 members and has 25 full-service branches throughout Long Island including: Amityville, Bay Shore, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Central Islip, Commack, East Northport, Farmingville, Hauppauge, Holbrook, Huntington, Manorville, Merrick, Nesconset, North Babylon, North Massapequa, Oakdale, Patchogue, Port Jefferson Station, Riverhead, Rocky Point, Selden, Shirley, Smithtown, South Setauket, and Wading River. Members also have access to services at more than 5,000 shared service centers located across the country and via over 55,000 Allpoint surcharge free ATMs worldwide. TFCU offers financial services to all people and businesses located in Nassau and Suffolk counties. More information is available about TFCU by visiting or by calling (631) 698-7000.

Featured Rates

Unsecured Personal Loan10.45%
Teachers Advantage LOC9.25%
Visa "No Frills" Card9.36%
Visa Classic12.36%
See All

*APR = Annual Percentage Rate. All rates are subject to change without notice.

Additional Resources

Share Branch NCUA Equal Housing Lender